2019 Student Leadership Awards


Every year the division celebrates the accomplishments of students who serve the community with their gifts of leadership. These students are recipients of the university’s Leadership Awards. Leadership scholarships will be awarded to the following students in the 2019-2020 academic year:


Kappa Alpha Theta High Flyer Award
A donor established this award, given for the first time in 2011, to invest in a woman student who is an outstanding undergraduate leader at Iowa State University.  The award recognizes a senior with a minimum GPA of 3.50 who has demonstrated exemplary leadership skills.

Olivia Gray, Biochemistry and History, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, Adams, Minnesota



Carnot H. Thomas and Lillian M. Thomas Award
This scholarship recognizes an undergraduate student with financial need who shows academic achievement and professional potential. The award was established by Lillian Thomas, a former Iowa State student, to honor her late husband, who studied engineering at Iowa State. After his mother passed away, Carnot H. Thomas, Jr. added the recognition for her.

  • Lucy Dougherty, Economics and Political Science, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, Winterset, Iowa


Charles F. Frederiksen Leadership Award
The Charles F. Frederiksen Leadership Award recognizes the contributions of a student in a leadership role within Iowa State University’s Department of Residence. It honors Charles (Chuck) Frederiksen who served as director of residence at Iowa State for 30 years before retiring in 1996.

Nicholas Pollock, Aerospace Engineering, College of Engineering, Overland Park, Kansas


David J. Henry All-University Leadership and Academic Excellence Award
This scholarship for a senior student was created in 1987 to honor David J. Henry, a 1971 Iowa State graduate who served as assistant to former President W. Robert Parks for four years before joining a Des Moines law firm.  Henry was 35 when he died in a traffic accident in 1983. The recipient must demonstrate potential for an outstanding professional career and typify the leadership and academic qualities of David J. Henry.

Hans Riensche, Agricultural Business, Global Resource Systems, and Agronomy, College of Agricultural and Life Sciences, Jesup, Iowa



David W. and Ellen J. Raisbeck Leadership Award
This award honors David and Ellen Raisbeck, 1971 graduates who have continued their interest in Iowa State University as members of the Order of the Knoll.

Hannah Rhoads, Industrial and Manufacturing, Systems Engineering, College of Engineering, Newton, Iowa




Gib and Nancy Stanek Leadership Award
This award honors Gib and Nancy Stanek.  Both Gib and Nancy promoted leadership qualities during their student days in the mid-1950s. Gib Stanek was one of the original members of the Student Affairs Development Council that created the concept of leadership awards. The Stanek award recognizes a sophomore who demonstrates leadership through community service.

Corrine Schwarting, Child, Adult and Family Services and Psychology, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, College of Human Sciences, Amana, Iowa


Presidential Leadership Award for Multicultural Students

This scholarship was established to support multicultural students. The award is based on demonstrated financial need, and administered by the office of Student  Financial Aid.
  • Dominique King, Civil Engineering, College of Engineering, Maryland Heights, Missouri


Enlow and Melena Ose Presidential Scholarship
The Enlow and Melena Ose Presidential Scholarship was established in 1996 to support student who meet all criteria to be named National Merit Scholars.

Cassandra Frazier, Architecture, College of Design, Ankeny, Iowa




Prescott Family Scholarship
This scholarship is available to an outstanding, entering freshman student at Iowa State University who is a resident of Marshall County or Story County, Iowa. 

Eva Steckelberg, Kinesiology, College of Human Sciences, Ames, Iowa



Robert Parks and Ellen Sorge Parks Senior Scholarship
This scholarship, named in honor of Iowa State’s 11th president and his wife, is awarded to a senior student. This scholarship was given by the class of 1996 in honor of W. Robert Parks, whose 21-year presidency (1965-1986) was the longest in the university’s history, and his wife Ellen, a scholar with a doctorate in political science who was an avid supporter of Iowa State’s library.

Yash Solanki, Biology and Genetics, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, Pune, India


Sandra and Lynn Davis Award
This award, established in 1996, honors Sandra and Lynn Davis who were involved in developing the concept of leadership awards. The Davises were very active in leadership activities during their student days in the mid-1960s, and Sandra Davis was chosen as chair of the Student Affairs Development Council in its first meeting in November 1993. This award recognizes a senior who has been a leader in any capacity on campus.

Madison Mueller, Agriculture Business, Economics, and Political Science, College of Agriculture and Life Sciences, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, Broomfield, Colorado


Sesquicentennial Learning to Live a Life Leadership Award
This award was established in 2008 by the university’s Sesquicentennial Committee as a legacy to Iowa State’s 150th birthday. Its name comes from a quote by 1883 graduate M.J. Riggs, the Memorial Union’s first president, inscribed on a wall in the union: “We come to college not alone to prepare to make a living, but to learn to live a life.” This award annually recognizes outstanding efforts by a junior or senior student to take advantage of opportunities at Iowa State University to apply his or her knowledge and leadership skills to real life projects.

Derek Thada, Math, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, Owatonna, Minnesota


Walter J. Allen & Shaun B. Keister Scholarship
The Walter J. Allen and Shaun B. Keister Scholarship is open to undergraduate (sophomores, juniors, and seniors) and graduate students who have demonstrated leadership and involvement in the lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer, intersex, asexual, etc. (LGBTQIA+) community at Iowa State University.

  • Karen Chen, Veterinary Medicine, College of Veterinary Medicine, Denville, New Jersey

Wallace E. Barron All-University Senior Award
The Iowa State University Alumni Association established this award in 1968 to recognize outstanding seniors who display high character, outstanding achievement in academics and university/community activities, and promise for continuing these exemplary qualities as alumni. The award is named for Wallace E. “Red” Barron, who served as director of alumni affairs at Iowa State from 1937 to 1968. Award recipients receive an Official Iowa State University Ring, compliments of the ISU Alumni Association.



Rachael Barnes, Biological Systems Engineering and Global Resource Systems, College of Engineering, College of Agriculture and Life Sciences, Bettendorf, Iowa






Benjamin Dralle, Nutritional Sciences and Genetics, College of Human Sciences, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, Osage, Iowa





Brandon Hanson, Agriculture Business, Economics and International Agriculture, College of Agriculture and Life Sciences, Iowa Falls, Iowa






Jenny Junker, Apparel Merchandising and Design, College of Human Sciences, Waukee, Iowa







Zoe Lambert, Kinesiology, College of Human Sciences, Macomb, Illinois

  • Joi Latson, Global Resource Systems and Spanish, College of Agriculture and Life Sciences, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, Florissant, Missouri  


Alexander Lev, Software Engineering, College of Engineering, Eagan, Minnesota