Staff care recognition


CARE is an ongoing recognition for Committed, Accomplished, Responsive, and Engaged Division of Student Affairs staff. It is a thank you and acknowledgement to a colleague for a job well done! Staff submitted for a recognition may be included in the division newsletter, social media, and at division events. Please submit your recognition via the button below. An email will be sent to the person(s) you are recognizing and their supervisor. Questions can be sent to Katy Cran at

Submit a CARE Recognition
Campanile with Memorial Union in background.
Past CARE Recipients 


  • Dayton Einck, Facilities Coordinator, Recreation Services 
  • Ryan McGowan, Logistics Specialist III, ISU Dining
  • Shelly McQueeney, Clinical Therapist, Student Counseling Services
  • Sasha Ruane-Borges-Ho, Senior Psychologist, Student Counseling Services
  • Ashley Artist, Senior Assistant Director for Wellness Programs, Recreation Services 
  • Erin Baldwin, Associate Vice President for Student Health and Wellness, Director of Thielen Student Health Center 
  • Rob Lipsey, Director, TRIO Student Support Services Program
  • Celeste Welshhons, Cook I, ISU Dining
  • Karen Skyles, Cook I, ISU Dining
  • Monica Martinez, Student Services Specialist II, TRIO Student Support Services 
  • AshLea Stauffer, Credentialing Coordinator and Assistant to the Associate Director, Thielen Student Health Center
  • Laura Bittner, Student Development Coordinator, Recreation Services
  • Whitnie Nichols, Assistant Manager for Memberships and Customer Service, Recreation Services
  • Brittany Klosterman, Certified Medical Assistant, Thielen Student Health Center
  • Alisha Jepsen, Procurement Agent, ISU Dining
  • Tim Harmon, Cook, ISU Dining
  • Elaine Tan, International Student Advisor, International Students and Scholars Office
  • Tracy Borts, Budget/Finance and Operations, Dean of Students Office
  • Jamie Niman, Accessibility Coordinator, Student Accessibility Services
  • McKinley Paratore, Graduate Assistant, Student Activities Center
  • Kody Henke, Assistant Director, Office of Student Assistance
  • The entire Memorial Union Events Management Staff: Ashley Snyder, Jessica Erickson, Haung Tan, Seth Dorhn, Casey Dague, David Hannon


  • The entire Memorial Union Custodial Team: Marybeth Ott, Dale Brown, Mary Paque, Angela Leopold, Derek Bjelland, Michale Ridgway, Kristopher Cochran, Paul Hase, Patrick Sherwood, and Vicki Bowers
  • Brad Hill, Associate Director of Operations, Memorial Union
  • The entire Student Counseling Services Team, specifically Fallyn Lee and Shelly McQueen
  • Keara Doocy, Assistant Director for TRIO Student Engagement and Leadership, Student Support Services Program 
  • Billy Boulden, Assistant Dean of Students for Development and Student Leadership and Director of Sorority and Fraternity Engagement
  • Kyle Holtman, Assistant Director, Learning Communities 
  • Dave Wiese, Facilities Mechanic III, Memorial Union
  • Justin Walker, Facilities Mechanic III, Memorial Union 
  • Kristine Heflin, Associate Director, Memorial Union
  • Brian Vanderheyden, Director, Student Wellness
  • Mike Giles, Director, Recreation Services
  • Katie Whipple, Director, Academic Success Center 
  • Virginia Speight, Director, Residence Life  
  • Pete Englin, Associate Vice President for Campus Life, Director of Department of Residence
  • Mohamed Ali, Director, ISU Dining
  • Tim Reuter, Student Services Specialist II, Memorial Union
  • Tony Winkler, Painter, Memorial Union 
  • Katie Haygood, Student Services Specialist II, Memorial Union
  • Becca Duncan, Secretary I, International Students and Scholars Office 
  • Joel Hochstein, Assistant Director, Student Conduct  
  • Mary Jo Krakau, Finance Delivery for Team Hickory
  • Rose Wilbanks, Executive Assistant to the Senior Vice President for Student Affairs
  • Steve Winfrey, Director, Memorial Union